Mitrovic had penalty goal ruled out in Newcastle vs Fulham

As part of the 20th round of the Premier League, Fulham played with Newcastle. Fulham striker Aleksandar Mitrovic thought he opened the scoring from the penalty spot on Sunday, but the goal was not counted.

In the 69th minute, Fulham were awarded a penalty after VAR intervention thought that Kieran Trippier had knocked Bobby Dekordova-Reid right in the box.

Mitrovic went to convert a penalty, slipping as he kicked the ball, sending goalkeeper Nick Pope the wrong way. Amid lively calls from Newcastle players, referee Robert Jones blew his whistle to disallow the goal.

Mitrovic’s penalty was ruled out as his miss meant he touched the ball twice before it hit the net.

According to the rules, the penalty taker can only touch the ball once, which means that the Serb’s kick was declared illegal and was not brushed.

Famously, this mistake led to the defeat of the club, as a late shot by Alexander Isak sealed all three points for Newcastle.

Chelsea sign Mykhailo Mudryk from Shakhtar Donetsk

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *