Novak Djokovic Defeats Nick Kyrgios to Win Wimbledon Title 2022

Serb Novak Djokovic won the Wimbledon tennis tournament, held on the grass courts of the All England Lawn Tennis and Croquet Club.

Read also – Elena Rybakina became the winner of Wimbledon-2022

In the final, the Serbian tennis player beat the Australian Nick Kyrgios. The meeting ended with a score of 4:6, 6:3, 6:4, 7:6 (7:3). The duration of the match was 3 hours and 2 minutes.

Wimbledon 2022

Novak Djokovic 3-1 Nick Kyrgios

World number three Djokovic completed 15 aces, made seven double faults and converted two out of four break points. His opponent filed through 30 times, made seven double faults and converted one break point out of six.

“Nick, you’ll be back, not just at Wimbledon but in the finals. I know that it’s tough to find consolation words after a tough loss like this, you showed why you deserve to be one of the best players in the world, particularly on this surface,” said Djokovic.

Note that due to the removal of Russians and Belarusians from participation in Wimbledon, Kiryos and Djokovic will not receive rating points for reaching the final or winning.

Novak Djokovic and Nick Kyrgios

All-time Grand Slam title leaders

  • Rafael Nadal 22
  • Novak Djokovic 21
  • Roger Federer 20
  • Pete Sampras 14
  • Roy Emerson 12

Novak Djokovic has won seven of the last 11 All England Club titles, tying Pete Sampras and close to one of Federer’s men’s singles records.

Kyrgios’ first service game featured a 125 miles per hour second serve ace and an underarm serve but mostly Kyrgios wowed with the quality of his play, breaking Djokovic in the fifth game and clinching the set with his seventh ace.

Novak interrupted Kyrgios’ serve for the first time in three meetings and led 3-1, and the Aussie began to channel his stress into showdowns in his support box.

Djokovic vs Kyrgios: Match Stats


Match Stats


15 Aces 30
7 Double Faults 7
83% 1st serve win percentage 70%
61% 2nd serve win percentage 53%
46 Total winners 62
2/4 Break points won 1/6
17 Unforced errors 33
132 Total points won 112

Since Roger Federer’s first Wimbledon title in 2003, only Andy Murray has managed to break the big three stranglehold, with Mark Philippoussis, Andy Roddick, Tomas Berdych, Marin Cilic, Kevin Anderson and Matteo Berrettini all coming up short in finals.

Earlier, the 23-year-old representative of Kazakhstan, Elena Rybakina, became the champion of Wimbledon 2022, who defeated Ons Zhaber from Tunisia in the final.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *