Roma are the first winners of the Conference League 2021|22

On May 25, the Italian Roma hosted the Dutch Feyenoord in the final of the Conference League of the 2021/2022 season. The match took place at the stadium Air Albania Stadium (Tirana).

Read also – Gravenberch from Ajax moved to Bayern for € 25 million

Conference League – final

Roma 1-0 Feyenoord

Goals: Zaniolo, 32 (1:0).

Line ups:

Rui Patricio, Karsdorp (Vina 89), Roger Ibanez, Smalling, Mancini, Cristante, Pellegrini, Zalewski (Spinazzola 67), Mkhitaryan (Sergio Oliveira 17), Abraham (Shomurodov 89), Zaniolo (Veretu 67). Bijlow, Geertruida, Senesi, Malasia (Jahanbakhsh 88), Trauner (Pedersen 74), Orkun Kokcu (Volemark 88), Eursnes, Til (Thornstra 59), Sinisterra, Nelson (Linssen 74), Dessers.

Warnings: Pellegrini, 37′. Zalewski, 66′. Rui Patricio, 84′. Spinazzola, 90+4′. Trauner, 25′.

Referee: Kovac (Romania).

Both teams started the final as the tournament’s top scorers with 28 goals each, but underdogs Feyenoord started off more positively, pushing Roma’s players high up on the pitch.


Feyenoord started the first half very well and really wanted to score the first goal in this match. Roma failed to create any action at the goal until the half hour mark, when they broke the stalemate with their only shot on goal of the half which ended in a scoring chance. Gianluca Mancini made a superb pass across the field into the box to Nicolò Zaniolo in control of the ball before kicking it past the oncoming goalkeeper to score the first goal of the match.

Feyenoord started the second half very well, creating several chances, and Mancini almost scored an own goal, deflecting a cross into the post. Moments later, the frame jammed again as Tyrell Malacia landed a devastating shot on goal, but Rui Patricio narrowly missed the post.

Despite the Dutch throwing everything forward to equalize, all three of Roma’s centre-backs rushed forward, struggling to defend their one-goal lead.

Nevertheless, the club managed to keep the score and win the Conference League Cup for the first time in history.


The winner of the Conference League directly advances to the next stage of the Europa League, but Roma secured their place in the Conference League through the Italian championship.

By admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: